Leadership & Governance

Ming-Ka Chan, BSc (Psych) MD MHPE FRCPC

Ming-Ka Chan is a Clinician Educator and Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics and Child Health at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, Canada. She is currently the Co-Director, Office of Leadership Education, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, and Director of the Shantou University Medical College-University of Manitoba Academic Exchange and EDI/Social Justice Lead, Department of Pediatrics & Child Health. She is the Co-Chair of the Canadian Association for Medical Education CLIME 2.0 leadership intensive.

Within Sanokondu, she is a founding member and is currently the Chair, Leadership and Governance Team, and the Communications Lead.

Jaimu Busari, MD MHPE PhD

Jamiu Busari is an associate professor of medical education at Maastricht University, Consultant Pediatrician and Dean, HOH Academy, Horacio Oduber Hospital, Aruba. He is a Maastricht University alumnus, a Harvard Macy Scholar, and an HBS executive education graduate in Managing Health Care Delivery.

Within Sanokondu, he is the Co-Chair of several planning committees of our annual or biannual events: The International Summit of Leadership Education for Physicians (TISLEP) as well as the NVMO-TISLEP Conference (first meeting in 2019) and the NASKHO-TISLEP Joint Conference (first meeting in 2018). He is also a founding member and the Lead for Academic Scholarship.

Deepak Dath, MD FRCSC

Deepak Dath, MD FRCSC, is a Laparoscopic Hepatobiliary Surgeon and Professor of Surgery at McMaster University in Hamilton. He currently works at the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre. He is an OISE Masters of Education alumni. Some of his past and current roles include: Developer of the CORE program in surgery at McMaster, Vice-chair of the Surgical Foundations Advisory Committee at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and Former Co-chair, CanMEDS 2015 Leader Role Working Group

Deepak's scholarship centres on teaching the CanMEDS Intrinsic Roles in daily practice, teaching in challenging situations, introducing interprofessional education to our system and developing the CanMEDS Leader Role for Canadians and other jurisdictions where CanMEDS is used. Within Sanokondu, he is a founding member & TISLEP planning committee member

Diane de Camps Meschino, BSc(Hons) MD FRPC MCert (MD Leadership)

Diane de Camps Meschino is a Consultant Psychiatrist & Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto. Her academic interests include leadership development in faculty & learners, trauma-informed healthcare, clinical/academic program development,& health systems transformation.

A highlight of roles includes: Co-Chair, Planning Committee NASKHO-TISLEP Joint Conferences 2018; The International Summit on Leadership Education for Physicians (TISLEP) Planning Committee; Co-Chair Leader Role CBME Curriculum (Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto); Co-founder Pause4Providers-providing mindfulness for HCP managing COVID-19; and Founder and Past Head Reproductive Life Stages Programme (Women's College Hospital).

She is a founding member of Sanokondu& the Vice-Chair of its Leadership & Governance Team.

Anne Matlow, MD FRCPC

Anne Matlow, MD FRCPC, is the Faculty Lead for Strategic Initiatives in Post MD Education at the University of Toronto, focusing on leadership, quality, safety and professionalism. She graduated from the University of Toronto medical school and has clinical specialty qualifications in Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases and Medical Microbiology. Local and national leadership positions have included: Medical Director of Infection Prevention and Control and Patient Safety at SickKids; Associate Director of the University of Toronto’s (UofT) Centre for Patient Safety; and Patient Safety Systems Educator with the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and healthcare surveyor with Accreditation Canada

Within Sanokondu, Anne is a founding member and co-chaired the Leadership and Governance team until Jan 2020. She has been the Co-chair, Toronto International Summit on Leadership Education for Physicians (TISLEP) Planning Committee since its inception of TISLEP in 2014.

Anupam Thakur, MD MEd FRCPC

Anupam Thakur is a psychiatrist in the Adult Neurodevelopmental Service at the Centre for Addiction and Health and Surrey Place in Toronto. He is the interim Psychiatrist-in-Chief at Surrey Place and Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto.

He has a Masters in Medical Education from Durham University in the UK, and has a particular interest in leadership training and curriculum development.

Within Sanokondu, Anupam has been on the Leadership & Governance team since Spring 2020 and leads the Innovation Hub

John(y) Van Aerde, MD, PhD

John(y) Van Aerde has worked in the Canadian healthcare system for the last 35 years, as neonatologist & clinician-researcher, in several regional, provincial & national leadership roles. Presently, he is a Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at the Universities of Alberta & BC, Associate Faculty at Royal Roads University, & Faculty for the Physician Leadership Institute, Canadian Medical Association

He holds a PhD in Medical Sciences and a Master’s degree in Leadership Studies. He is the Executive Medical Director, Canadian Society of Physician Leaders (CSPL) and Chief-Editor, Canadian Journal of Physician Leadership. His current scholarship is in several aspects of physician leadership.

Within Sanokondu, he has been part of the Leadership & Governance Team since 2016.

Graham Dickson, PhD

Graham Dickson is a Professor Emeritus at Royal Roads University, Senior Research Advisor - Canadian Society of Physician Leaders (CSPL), Research Advisor - Canadian Health Leadership Network and Member of the LEADS Collaborative and Partner in LEADS Global

Some highlighted publications in leadership include Co-Author (with Dr. Van Aerde): Accepting our Responsibility: A Blueprint for Physician Leadership and Co-Author (with Bill Tholl): Bringing Leadership to Life in Health: LEADS in a Caring Environment

Within Sanokondu, he has been part of the Leadership & Governance Team since 2016.

Past Members:

Dr. Karen Owen, BA DipEd, MEd DBA

Member of NFP boards in the hospital, academic and community services sectors working on organizational governance

Co-founder of the World Federation of Medical Managers

Former CEO, The Royal Australian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA)

Former Chair, Medical specialty colleges CEOs Committee

Joshua D. Hartzell, MD MS-HPEd FACP FIDSA

Program Director Internal Medicine Residency - National Capital Consortium, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

Professor of Medicine - Uniformed Services University

David Keegan, MD CCFP(EM) FCFP

David Keegan, MD CCFP(EM) FCFP, is an associate professor of Family Medicine and associate dean of Faculty Development at the Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary in Alberta, Canada. Some of his other roles include:

• Founding editor of LearnFM, the shared Canadian curriculum in family medicine (learnfm.ca or sharcfm.ca)

• Founding editor of TeachFM.org, an open-access resource for family medicine teachers/educators worldwide.

• Past president of both the Canadian Federation of Medical Students and the Canadian Association of Interns and Residents (now called Resident Doctors of Canada).

He loves working on big challenges with unclear paths forward.